September’s Favorites

Starting this month I am going to try and blog my favorite things of the month that I’ve seen or bought or used. I hosted a favorite things party last year and besides the delicious Sangria being slung around, it was really cool to see what others consider their favorite things to be. Plus, I favor so many different “things” depending on the time of the year or what I’m going through, so naturally this just fits in my blog rotation.

What prompted me to start this was my subscription to Birchbox.

(P.S. if you don’t have a subscription, you should….as  you should also use my referral so I can gain extra points…shitchyeah).  For $10 a month, I can choose a male or female monthly subscription sent to me with high end beauty swag that is at times catered to my personalized profile.  It’s really opened my eyes to some new health/beauty products I would have never known about.  I heart my Birchbox surprises!!

Anyway, back to September’s faves…

The first thing I want to highlight is the arrival of Autumn!!  It’s October for crying out loud….time to gather your Gluhwein, light those fire pits, rake those leaves for Fall crafts, watch Football with piles of tailgate food to get your waistband ready for the Holidays, say the word cornnnnnn-ucopia once in our life, and get the costume together that is sure to freak the pants off little kids on Halloween.  The first “sign” of Autumn in our house are the seasonal wood blocks we use year round.

image

Next on the list is Canada…I have come to realize favorite things abound in Canada.  Poutine,  the exchange rate, Lake Ontario, the European vibe, their amazing walkstrasse, and how close it is to our new digs.  Bon Jour Canada…

image-3

This next thing is a store that I’ve never been to…but feel like will become the “go to” place I will look to first for price comparisons. It’s called Five Below and everything in the store is between $1 & $5.  SCORE!  It’s like a high end Dollar Store…and that’s the $hit I like.

image-10

What’s a better thing than shopping at Five Below?  Scoring these Halloween Costumes for G and I…for $5 each.  Angry Birds??  That sounds about right…

image-11

 This would not be any favorite list of mine without the mention of chalkboard paint!!  I have been a painting freakazoid, from Teage’s room, to picture frames and toyboxes.  Just wait til I get my grubby hands on colored chalk paint…nothing will be safe!

image-8

Next up, this “thing” is my neighbor’s and when she showed it to me and let me try it I was sold 5000.  It’s hemp infused Ben-Gay.  Ummmmm, I think it pretty much sells itself…and if anyone is going to El Salvador soon, HOLLA!!!

image-12

Most people that know me have heard about the ongoing project I have been working on….a brooch bouquet.  These are the latest and greatest.  Brooches in general are becoming one of my favorite collectibles.  That feather one is doing it!!

image-4

Since moving to the states, this list could not be a favorite things list without the mention of this Jesus Loves Me DVR.  It’s like a time machine for your TV and finally in my life!  Praise!!

image-7

Did anyone love the Muppets Movie as much as I did.  I mean, the Party for One song, Muppet of a Man, Miss Piggy’s return to Kermie.  Obviously this movie wasn’t from this month, but guess who joined our family after our trip to the Syracuse DIsney Store?  Walter!!!!  He’s a great buddy and totally resembles my lil T.   Plus, his alter ego in the movie is Sheldon Cooper?  Ride or Die Walter….

image-6

Fall wouldn’t start off correctly without some fricking picking…apples that is.  The local Cider Mill is now our one stop shop this Fall for all variations of apples, pumpkins, Cider, Indian Corn, gourds, cheese curds, country cooking aids, the world famous Cider Donuts and this….it reminds me of my childhood, the good parts anyway.

image-1

I picked this up at the Amish Furniture Store the other day.  It’s a highlight for me because it let’s me think I am connected to the Amish Mafia somehow now.   Have you seen that show?  It’s some weird $hit….$hit that I can’t look away from.  Ok back to it…It’s an oak based, mason jarred, gumball machine.  I put Pretzel M&Ms in there…..and it siiiiings!

image-2

Rounding out the list is another stateside first favorite…SHOPPING REWARDS!!!  Overseas we mainly had stamp cards…which I appreciated fully.  But dayum, these store “Bucks” and “Cash” plus some sort of freebie or discount for every store you sign up for online….and thennnnn these rewards cards??  Hells Yessss.  Coupons who??

image-13

I’d love to hear what your favorite things are….unless your a greedy biatch and don’t like sharing a good idea.  If that’s the case…hit the cyber pavement.  This blog is all about sharing…everythang!!!  But let’s be honest…things ARE just things right?!  Hmmmm….

XOXO,

Di

Leave a comment